Wonder what I’ve been up to? Check out my Kickstarter!

For those who want to know why I disappeared for the past few months: follow this link for the quick answer.

Hi all.

Yes, yes I know.  I’m sorry.  This really is WAY too long to go without a blog post.  But I have to jump up right now and say that it was most definitely not a hiatus: that word that I so despise, right up there with people who fall out because of ‘creative differences’.  Which I guess means “I couldn’t think of an innovative way to punch all of his teeth out in one go.”

Where was I?  Oh yes!  Well, here’s the deal boys and girls: I have simply been super, duper busy recently.  First of all: November.  That is my traditional NaNoWriMo month.  For those of you who don’t know, NaNoWriMo is ‘National November Writing Month’, the ultimate challenge for any writer in self-discipline and and motivation to write 50,000 words in a month, or 1,667 per day.  That’s a hefty task for folks who hold down full time jobs!  But you’ll be pleased to know that I succeeded, though the writing thing is a hint to what’s coming later.

In December, work kicked into high gear for me, to the point where I was out of the office for two weeks on business trips.  That, coupled with the fact that I was gearing up for a visit back to the UK for Christmas, meant I had no time or energy leftover for my poor blog.

And so we come to January.  I’m back in Japan, and work is considerably calmer now.  And seeing as my blog has recently turned 1, it seems like a great time to reload and come back at you with a fresh slew of blog posts!

BUT!  There’s something else at play here people.  The Sherlocks among you will have spotted the hints to my author aspirations, not just from this post but from the links in my sidebar.  I’ve tried to not push one on the other up until now, but here’s the straight deal: I want to turn this blog into a proper book some day, too.  An actual A to Z of Japan.  But that will be some time off.

Right now, though, I have a load of fiction projects I can share with you!  And this will help this blog ultimately: if I can get my fiction work off the ground and gain a name for myself, and gain recognition, then it will give me the motivation, exposure (and, let’s be frank here, funds) I need to produce more content…so I don’t have be in a position where I’m swamped by a full-time job, you see?

But I need your help.  Enter Kickstarter!

Tickwallpaper named
A mock up of the front cover of my fiction project, called ‘Tick’.

If you’ve enjoyed my content and style here, then you will likely also enjoy the fiction I committed to paper too.  So, if you can show your support with my Kickstarter, it would be a great help, and ultimately it all feeds back to the reader’s benefit: you!  Please look at the page, and have a look at what is on offer:

http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/pjleonard/tick-a-novel-by-pj-leonard

Anything you can offer would be truly, deeply appreciated, and it’s not for nothing: there are some pretty sweet rewards up for grabs if we can reach that goal!  Thanks for hearing me out, and for your patience and understanding.

But now, I’m back.  I now return you to the regular schedule, starting tomorrow!  Promise!

PJL x

One comment

Leave a Reply

